Region Debate

Guess what guess what guess what???!!!

I had the region debate tournament yesterday and now I'm going to tell you all about it.

I got there at 6.45 am and we set up everything. The other schools arrived and EXTEMP started as the first IE of today. Extemp has 3 rounds, and in each round you get three topics (randomly picked) and you choose one (did I describe this already?) and hope that you have evidence in our extemp box for that topic, and write a speech about it. It has to follow a structure and be 7 min long and completely memorized. You have half an hour to write it and it has to include at least 2 sources cited in the text. Then you go to your judge and hold your speech and hope for the best. It was my first time and I was terrified. Luckily I had awsome ppl like Cedric, Sharissa and Braiden to help me not freak out.

My topics for the three rounds were something like (1) Will the airline industry face big losses during the next year? (2) Can't even remember the topic but I sort of screwed up that one a bit. It was something about the proposed health care reform and (3) was about "How is the increased number of women in the american workforce affecting the american labor.

I thought I did pretty ok in Extemp, considering how I'd never done it before.

After about 5 hours in school we had lunch and then the debate rounds started. LD has three rounds too, but I got a Bye at the first round which means I didn't have to compete in it. So I went with Trevor and watched him argue against Snow Canyon's debate president. LD takes forever, but finally I got to round two which was against Trevor but he was affirmative this time and negative when I listened.

I beat him, and we had an awsome judge who was really nice and talked to us afterwards. Then I had to wait forever until I had mu second round against the guy I went against last time who totally crushed me then and did the same thing this time...

The last round ended around 6ish I think, but the awards cermony wasn't until 8.. So I hung out with Taya, Tess and Sharissa til then. The basketball game playoffs were in the gym, and the Miss Hurricane Pageant was in the auditorium so we had to have the awards cermony in Rich's room..

After the awards, we took a picture with the Hurricane Tigers Debate Team, and our trophy that the school got, and then me, Taya, Alissa and Rachel went to McDo and got their weekend deal of 50 chicken nuggets for $10 :D Celebration!! They dropped me and Taya off at her house, where we watched "My life in ruins" and hung out til about midnight when Solveig picked me up there as she came down from Springdale where she'd been with Paige all evening. It started to snow when we pulled into Apple Valley, and today we have about 5 cm of wet snow outside :P hehe Solveig's so excited!


Later added:

Hahaha guess what? It's so funny really, I apparently forgot to tell you how I did in the tournament! Heheh

Soo, in Extemp I finished 3rd!!!!!!!!!! Amazing, right?! I've never done it before and I'm not even american and the only two that beat me were Cedric and Braiden from our school..

And in LD.... I WON!!!!!!!!!!!!! I took first place and thereby beat even the two really good and experienced LD debaters Cedric and Rachel from HHS, and everyone else and I felt so freaking good about it and it was absolutely amazing!!!! I can't understand how, because I won one round and lost the other, but well it was great and today (Monday) in the morning announcements they said everyone who placed in debate this weekend, and I got congrats from so many people :D

Heheh thanks dad for reminding me to tell how it went ^^


Kommentarer
Postat av: Nille

Hur gick det - vem vann? N som i pappa.

2010-02-22 @ 11:38:43

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0