We all live in a yellow submarine

I just watched a tv program about a group of boys who had run away from Colorado City on the border between Utah and Arizona. They grew up in the cult-religion of FLDS (Fundamentalistic Mormons) and realised it was no way to live under all the restrictions, threats and abuse. So they ran away, stayed in St George and tried to rescue their sisters and mothers as well. They managed to get their 14yearold sister out of there right before she was to be married off to some old guy.. I know it's a religion and I know all religions should be respected but it's just so sick. Some of the old men living in that community have up to 70 wives. 70! Imagine the amount of children if every woman has around 10 of them!


And what is just as crazy is that I lived for a year just about 10 min from this place. I find that all people should have the right to practise whatever religion they want. I do not at all agree with this kind of sect behavior that Warren Jeffs is putting these people through. It is just sad to see what terrible lives await them as they grow up there, and how little they know about the world. THey have no books, no movies, no music except choir singing. One of the boys who had left talked about school and how they had learned about the european wars and how Bill Clinton slaughtered all the little kids.. Do you mean Hitler? ....Oh yeah... O.ô

Kommentarer
Postat av: Laura

I totally agree. it is really very wrong. Although some of them don't go quite that far. that is mostly extremists... anyway, i still don't believe any of it. Love you <3

2011-10-19 @ 02:14:13
Postat av: Soso

Um, sounds like a totally unbiased, honest portraying film. ;)



There are none who have 70 wives, just saying...According to some statistics some of the oldest guys there have up to 30 wives, which is still ridiculous, but it's not even half of this number...



Warren Jeffs is terrible, yes. He's absolutely terrible. That does not make their religion terrible and it does not mean that all these people are growing up towards terrible lives. You must remember that for many of these people, including many of the women, it is still their CHOICE. And they do have books, and I'm pretty sure most of them watch movies too. Even if their choices of those are somewhat limited, hey, it's still more than the Amish...but nobody goes around bashing them. And you yourself know well enough that it's not just polygamist children who don't learn much in school....just look at Hurricane.



Not to be rude or confrontational. ;) It just bothers me when people oversimplify and criticize certain religions based on less-than-reliable sources, without more consideration to facts and other religions, too... :P



Yes, some of them have it horrible.

2011-10-20 @ 08:28:04
Postat av: Lisa

Solveig I think you're being somewhat of a hypocrite.. You are the strongest anti-religion-opinionated teenager I know (maybe besides Max ^^) and also I did not talk about FLDS members in general, or even everyone living in Colorado City. My opinions were a reaction to what I saw in this tv program and I do feel sorry for those boys and their families and after hearing their stories I had some strong opinions about THEIR lives (both lived in FLDS and now). I don't mean to generalize that all religions are horrible, or anything like that (and you know that I don't think that way). I don't mean to confront you about it either (and you know this too). I do think that if you saw this tv program I speak of you would agree with me about THESE CASES. That's all I had to say ;P

2011-10-20 @ 13:48:15
URL: http://lisaangel.blogg.se/
Postat av: Lisa

As a matter of fact, why don't you check it out and tell me what you think :)

http://svtplay.se/v/2568681/dox/sons_of_perdition

2011-10-20 @ 13:55:01
URL: http://lisaangel.blogg.se/
Postat av: Soso

Dearie, I'm not denying (and didn't say) that these cases were not bad or depressing or terrible. But you said "I know it's a religion and I know all religions should be respected but it's just so sick.". Those are your words, not the TV program's words, right? That's what I'm responding to, your statement that this religion is sick. Indeed, the cases you mentioned and that were mentioned in the program may have been sick. But that doesn't make it a sick religion. :)



And I have said many, MANY times that I am not anti-religion, that I have nothing against religion in and of itself. It's when other people try to force their religions onto others that I have a problem with it. I apply this statement to all religions, so if people are forced into polygamy then I have a problem with it. My point was simply that not everyone IS forced into it, for some people it is a choice, and then there is nothing wrong with it, and even those who are forced into it does not make the religion "sick", it makes those cases and those specific people sick.



That's all I meant, don't freak out. ;) I see nothing hypocritical about what I said; perhaps you have misunderstood either my comment or my perceptions of religion. I am certainly not anti-religion, I just don't like it for me. :)

2011-10-20 @ 14:59:48
Postat av: Lisa

I won't go into answering this and continue the discussion, because I know from experience it leads to no good. But it's ok dear, beacause you're wrong ^^ <3

2011-10-20 @ 22:07:31
URL: http://lisaangel.blogg.se/
Postat av: Lisa

...btw there was an article today in the paper where they mentioned Warren Jeff's dad, and how he had 75 wives.....

2011-11-06 @ 12:33:46
URL: http://lisaangel.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0